If the person who sent the text deleted part of the conversation on his phone will it also be deleted from my phone?
If someone deletes part of the conversation from his phone it will still show in your phone. The messages are stored in your inbox and whoever sent them has no access to them.
It will not affect your messages. You would have to delete them manually yourself. They cant access stuff like that on their phone.