Submit a question to our community and get an answer from real people.
Submit

How do I make friends of my friends unable to like/comment (only view) my pictures in which I tagged my friends in on Facebook?

I'm fairly sure that it was the case before, that friends of my friends were only capable of seeing my pictures in which friends were tagged and not able to comment on it. Now all of a sudden I have these people I don't know commenting on my photo's, which is something i really don't like. How do I change this with the new (confusing) Facebook privacy settings?

Report as

I figured it out! When you make an album, even if you make it only visible to friends or friends but not acquaintances, friends of the people you tag can still view the pictures, like, and comment. To prevent people you don't know from liking and commenting, go to the full album (with the full spread of pictures). Then, in the upper right-hand corner, click on the drop down arrow that shows who can view your photos (probably will say friends unless you have set it so it is visible to everyone). Next, click "Custom". In the pop-up window, it will say "friends of those tagged" with a checkbox next to it. UNCHECK this box. Click "save changes" and you're done! :)

Helpful (1) Fun Thanks for voting Comments (1)
Report as
Thanksss ... It's Really Helpful ..
Report as
Add a comment...

I think your best option would be to change the security setting for your photos to "Friends Only". This way, only your friends can see and comment on your photos...why do friends of friends need to see what you are posting??

Helpful Fun Thanks for voting Comments (7)
Report as
It's already set to friends only. Yet it has this note: "Note: anyone tagged and their friends can also see this post." Which is fine, but it doesn't say anything about being able to comment.
Report as
They wont be able to comment,mine says the same thingg.!
Report as
My understanding of that is that friends of friends should be able to view only, so I'm not sure why you are having this problem. If it is a big issue for you, perhaps you could consider not tagging photos? I know I like tagging my photos so my friends can see when I post a pic of them, but like I said, if this causes major issues for you, perhaps the easy fix is to post photos, but not tag them...
Report as
Yes my understanding is the same as yours, yet somehow friends of my friends are commenting on the pictures, and it actually says "Name Lastname - Friend of *insert my friend's name" above the comment. So this is a new thing in facebook, and I want it disabled. Of course I'm gonna keep tagging my friends, just want it to be as it used to be.
Report as
I hate when FB changes something that affects our privacy...and they never seem to inform us about it!! Lovely...just lovely...
Report as
Here is a screenshot that should help explain: http://postimage.org/image/1wa6ys61w/
Report as
And yes, very true!
Report as
Add a comment...

To make friends of your friends unable to like/comment on your pictures and only view them, adjust the privacy settings on your Facebook account. To change to privacy settings click on the My Account link and change the settings to custom. Next, set the pictures settings "to view only" on your Facebook account.

Helpful Fun Thanks for voting Comments (1)
Report as
I don't see where you're trying to guide me. I can get to the privacy setting of my account, which is set to custom, but where are these picture settings you speak of?
Report as
Add a comment...

Change your profile so only freinds only can comment on your profile and only freinds can view your profile that should slice the problem

Helpful Fun Thanks for voting Comments (1)
Report as
It's already set to friends only. There is however a note that says "Anyone tagged and their friends can see this post." Which is fine, I don't mind having them see the picture. It's that they somehow gained the ability to comment as well that I want resolved. I'm starting to doubt if that's even possible now.
Report as
Add a comment...

Dear Caffrey, I really get you cause I just wrote to the facebook's forum asking about exactly the same issue which i really don't like either, I find it annoying and a lititle disturbing getting all these comments and likes from people I don't know. Well, for now I guess there's no way to solve this. will come again if i've got an answer from them.

hang in here. ;)

Helpful Fun Thanks for voting Comments (2)
Report as
Go to edit album and change the privacy setting from friends to custom. When you click on custom it'll appear a little window saying "Make this visible to ---these people or lists:" you select friends and then there is a box "friends of those tagged" and deselect that.
It took me a while to figure it out!
Report as
I understand what you're saying GJ1 but I think what HippyT and imCaffrey are asking about is a feature that used to be available on Facebook where only you, your friends, and/or whoever was tagged could comment and like your photos and posts. Friends of those tagged could still see the picture(or post), but not comment or like it, because as HippyT said it can be annoying and sometimes disturbing when random strangers (to you) are commenting and/or 'like'ing your pictures and posts.

If anyone finds out how to do it again, or if face books makes it available again, let me know. Thanks :)
Report as
Add a comment...

settings>followers>follower comments..>friends

Helpful Fun Thanks for voting Comments (0)
Report as
Add a comment...
Do you have an answer?
Answer this question...
Did you mean?
Login or Join the Community to answer
Popular Searches