Submit a question to our community and get an answer from real people.
Submit

Why is this not intentional grounding

when a quarterback spikes the ball to stop the clock, why is this not intentional grounding. He's not throwing it to anyone, it doesn't get back to the line of scrimmage, & he's still in the pocket

Report as

There is a special rule to allow it.

Once an eligible player or offensive lineman passes the line of scrimmage, the ball cannot be spiked, kneeled or thrown directly out of bounds before the line its self.

So if the players "run a play" then it would be, but since they just stand there or move backwards, then it isn't intentional grounding.

Helpful (1) Fun Thanks for voting Comments (1)
Report as
Thanks, I've been wondering that for a few yrs & no one had an answer for me
Report as
Add a comment...

I believe because he is still in the pocket

Helpful Fun Thanks for voting Comments (2)
Report as
But if he throws the ball away & no receiver is close to the ball & he's still in the pocket it's considered intentional grounding
Report as
yeah, LouisJolliet said it perfectly.
Report as
Add a comment...
Do you have an answer?
Answer this question...
Did you mean?
Login or Join the Community to answer
Popular Searches