Submit a question to our community and get an answer from real people.
Submit

Need to know a basketball ruling. A player makes a lay-up and is intentionally fouled. How many free throws is the player given?

Is it one free throw for the foul and then two more because it was intentional, or just two free throws after counting the basket, or just one free throw after counting the basket?

Report as

If the player is intentionally fouled and he still gets to shoot, s/he gets to shoot 1 free throw. If the shot wasn't made and a foul is called, s/he gets to shoot 2 free throws. Check out the details on avcssbasketball.com/refereesfoulsviolations/.

Helpful Fun Thanks for voting Comments (0)
Report as
Add a comment...

One after the basket. Two foul shots if the basket is waved off. Possession, follows either if foul is determined flagrant.

Helpful Fun Thanks for voting Comments (0)
Report as
Add a comment...

Two

Helpful Fun Thanks for voting Comments (0)
Report as
Add a comment...

However sometimes a fragrant foul is called (2 types) and the player may be awarded another one and possession, but you have to check the ruling on that.

Helpful Fun Thanks for voting Comments (0)
Report as
Add a comment...

Two and then their team gets possession

Helpful Fun Thanks for voting Comments (0)
Report as
Add a comment...
Do you have an answer?
Answer this question...
Did you mean?
Login or Join the Community to answer