No negative effect.. Normally, when you delete stuff, and it puts it in the recycle bin, it is basically moving it to a new directory. When you empty the bin, the Operating System then removes the directory entries that tell the system where the file is, but it doesn't really "erase" the data until it is overwritten by some new file or data. That's why something like Norton's UnErase can work, as it can find all of the pieces of the file, link them back together, and give it a generic directory entry. That's why there are also utility programs that will agressively overwrite "deleted" files so that they cannot be recovered.