The answer depends on the intent of the question. If you are wanting to know, Is it part of a plant-based vegetarian diet (not flesh meat, fowl, fish, or seafood, etc.), then the answer is, Yes! It's a vegetable. If you are wanting to distinguish between the seed-bearing portion of the plant (seeds, grains, fruits, nuts, etc.), and the other (vegetable) parts of the plant (roots, stems, leaves), then the answer is, No! It's not a vegetable. In this context, vegetables are the edible root, stem, or leaf of the plant.
actually rice is vegetable when you put it with the green salad , and it is meat when you eat it in the filled chicken , and it is dessert when you eat it with sugar , and it is milk ,when you drink it with syrup , and it is papers when you use it in papers , and it is flour when you use it in cake ,, and this is the sad life of the rice that he can't be himself one day can you imagine ! sorry for the rice ,,