Submit a question to our community and get an answer from real people.

What Are the Five Parts of the Compromise of 1850?

Report as

The Compromise of 1850 was a package of five parts, namely: • California was admitted as a free state. • The slave trade was abolished in the District of Columbia.
• The Territory of New Mexico and the Territory of Utah were organized under the rule of popular sovereignty. • The Fugitive Slave Act which requires all U.S. citizens to assist in the return of runaway slaves. • Texas gave up much of the western land which it claimed and received compensation of $10,000,000 to pay off its national debt.

Helpful Fun Thanks for voting Comments (0)
Report as
Add a comment...
Do you have an answer?
Answer this question...
Did you mean?
Login or Join the Community to answer
Popular Searches