Submit a question to our community and get an answer from real people.
Submit

is quinoa Kosher for Passover

Report as

Some Halachic authorities believe quinoa to be kitniyot but others say that it is a "goose foot" family member and would not be included in the kitniyot prohibition. However quinoa is generally processed in the same locations as wheat. If are Ashkenazi Jew, ask your rabbi if quinoa is kitniyot. If Ashkenzi or Sephardic, quinoa would need the certification for Kosher for Passover notation.

Helpful Fun Thanks for voting Comments (0)
Report as
Add a comment...

Quinoa was made Kosher for Passover in 1995. It is a grain-like filling imported from Chile back in the 1980's.

Helpful Fun Thanks for voting Comments (0)
Report as
Add a comment...
Do you have an answer?
Answer this question...
Did you mean?
Login or Join the Community to answer
Popular Searches