In the United States, certain states, such as Alabama, Colorado and Utah, allow 16-year-olds to obtain tattoos with parental consent. Twelve states, including Arizona and Kansas, require the parent or guardian to be present while the minor is receiving the tattoo.
No federal law dictates whether or not 16-year-olds can receive tattoos. Instead, individual states set their own laws and enforce them accordingly. In New York, for example, it is against the law to give a minor a tattoo regardless of whether or not a parent or guardian consents.
Other states that prohibit the tattooing of minors include Oklahoma, Rhode Island and California. In some of these states, however, tattooing is permitted if it is done by a licensed physician.Learn More
In the majority of cases, a new tattoo can be used to cover up an existing tattoo. Carefully plan the design, size and coloring of the tattoo to ensure the original tattoo is fully covered.Full Answer >
Home tattooing requires a needle, a pencil with an eraser, a ballpoint pen, tattoo ink, cotton swabs, rubbing alcohol and a bandage. To create a tattoo, make a tattoo implement, sterilize the needle and the skin, draw a design and tattoo the image into the skin. Time varies according to the design.Full Answer >
Tattoos are best designed by using the favorite colors and details of the person to create a personalized, unique piece that suits their personality. Consider the placement of the tattoo to determine its size and visibility.Full Answer >
According to Crime Library, a teardrop tattoo is a small tattoo found underneath the eye and is in the shape of a teardrop. Sometimes the tattoo is shaded in, and sometimes it is only the outline of a teardrop. The teardrop tattoo is most associated with prison inmates.Full Answer >