In America, most states have laws that restrict piercings to those aged 18 or over. It may be possible to be pierced with a parent's permission but that is dependent on the establishment and on the local and state laws.
Some states don't have any rules prohibiting a minor from being pierced. This includes Hawaii, Iowa, Maryland, Massachusetts, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, South Dakota, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia and Wisconsin. Maryland, Massachusetts, Nevada, New Mexico, and Oregon are the only states in America that also don't have any state laws against the tattooing of a minor without a guardian's permission.Learn More
Caring for a nose piercing includes not touching the piercing with dirty hands. It's also advisable to wash the piercing with a solution of salt and water.Full Answer >
To remove an L-shaped nose piercing, push the jewelry through the piercing at the correct angle, then sanitize the area. Do not attempt to remove the jewelry unless the piercing has fully healed. If the piercing is new, wait at least nine days before removal.Full Answer >
The healing time needed before changing out jewelry varies depending on the part of the nose that is pierced, but ranges from 4 months to 27 months. Generally, cartilage piercings take longer to heal compared to simple skin piercings.Full Answer >
Dermal piercings are available at most tattoo and piercing parlors. A needle is inserted into the skin and removed through another, creating a perforation. The dermal anchor goes into the perforation under the skin, and the jewelry attaches to the anchor.Full Answer >