Getting a tattoo apprenticeship is almost never easy, but it's certainly possible. To get a good tattoo apprenticeship requires talent, dedication and some money for training.Know More
Showcasing your artistic abilities to your potential mentor is important, so you need to have a portfolio of your work. It should contain at least 50 of your best color drawings or paintings. You could also include pictures, sculptures or murals you have created.
Find a tattoo artist with at least 5 years of experience and a good reputation. Remember to be both humble and enthusiastic when approaching your perspective mentor. Visit several reputable shops, and make sure to follow up with a phone call.
Negotiate the monetary aspect with this in mind: Most good artists aren't going to offer you a free apprenticeship. Even if they were to do so, know that you are required to work hard doing all of the mundane tasks no one else wants to do, including taking out trash, mopping floors and doing all of the dirty work. Avoid an apprenticeship with someone who is only in it for the money. Striking a balance between the two, as well as finding someone who you get along with, are the keys to success here.
The state of California requires all tattoo artists to register with their local public health enforcement agency. At the time of registration, the artist must provide proof of age, Hepatitis B vaccination or exemption forms and documentation showing that the person has completed the required bloodborne pathogen training.Full Answer >
Whether or not you can get a license to tattoo at your home depends on where you live, according to Nolo. Except for North Dakota and New Mexico, states have enacted specific but differing laws to regulate tattooing and licensure.Full Answer >
A person must be at least 18 years old to get a tattoo in Illinois even if he has parental consent. It is considered a Class A misdemeanor for a tattoo artist to offer to tattoo a minor or to allow him to remain on the premises unaccompanied.Full Answer >
The state of Wisconsin prohibits anyone under the age of 18 from receiving a tattoo. This applies even if the minor has parental consent for the procedure.Full Answer >