The Arkansas "hot check" law comes into effect when a person in the state of Arkansas writes a check for an amount he knows cannot be covered by the money in his bank account. Whether the hot-check writer has committed a felony or misdemeanor depends on the amount of the bounced check, but the penalties are also different depending on where the offense was committed.
As an example, in Saline County, Ark. it is a misdemeanor to write a hot check for less than $200. If the check is over $200 or the offender has written multiple checks totaling more than $500 over a three-month period, he may be charged with a felony, as of 2014.
However, In the city of Springdale, someone who writes a hot check of up to $1,000 is still qualified as a misdemeanor offender, with anything over that amount considered a felony. In addition to criminal charges being brought against the person who writes a hot check, there can also be a civil penalty incurred. Under Arkansas law, someone who was the recipient of a hot check can ask for the amount of the check plus a $30 fee to be awarded to him, as of 2014.Learn More
A domiciliary account is one that primarily holds foreign currency, according to Shikenan. All banks in Nigeria allow citizens to transfer money from abroad by having a bank transfer funds to another account.Full Answer >
As Investopedia explains, a "bounced check" is a slang term referring to a check that cannot be paid by the bank because the account on which the check was drawn has insufficient funds. Banks typically charge penalties to account holders who write checks that bounce.Full Answer >
Make a check payable to your name, and then cash it at the bank. You need a pen, a form of identification and a check from your checking account. The process takes under 5 minutes.Full Answer >
Checks have three sets of numbers printed on the bottom. According to the United States Patent and Trademark Office, the first nine-digit number is the routing number, and the second number is the account number.Full Answer >