Q:

How do you get a beauty license?

A:

Quick Answer

Before a beauty licensed is issued, a person must pass beauty class and the state's cosmetology examination. The learning process must take place in an approved school setting. The student must complete the required hours of classroom study and hands on training as required by the state.

Know More
How do you get a beauty license?
Credit: Bambu Productions Stone Getty Images

Full Answer

The student can take the state board exams once proficiency in these areas have been demonstrated. Only a few states will allow apprenticeship training in lieu of education. Once one's license is received, the student has to take continuing education classes to stay current and renew the license regularly. Sanitation and safety quizzes are required, along with a renewal fee.

Learn More

Related Questions

  • Q:

    How do you get a real estate license?

    A:

    Specific requirements to qualify for a real estate license vary based on state regulations. Regardless, all states require graduation from an accredited real estate program and a passing state exam score. Review state-specific qualifications by contacting the real estate licensing board in the state where you want to work.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How do you get your real estate license in PA?

    A:

    As of 2014, obtaining a real estate license in Pennsylvania requires you to be at least 18 years old, complete 60 hours of approved real estate education, provide a criminal background check, pass both the Pennsylvania and the national licensing exams, and apply for a license. The amount of time varies depending on individual circumstances, but most applicants are licensed within one to three months of starting the process.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is required to get a security license in New York?

    A:

    Before applying to the New York Department of State for a security-guard registration card, individuals must complete an eight-hour pre-assignment training course, and the completion certificate must be submitted with the security-guard application. Within 90 days of employment, a 16-hour on-the-job training course is mandatory. An annual eight-hour in-service training course must be completed each year during the two-year registration period to keep the registration active.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How do you get your California dental X-ray license?

    A:

    As of 2014, to obtain a dental X-ray license, you must successfully complete a radiation safety course. If safety training was completed before 1985, you may take the Dental Board of California radiation safety examination in lieu of coursework. Upon satisfying the requirements, an X-ray license is awarded.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore