As of June 2014, your ability to claim a caregiver’s allowance is dependent on a number of factors, including your relationship with the individual you are caring for, the reason why you are providing care and the state you live in. That said, there a number of government programs, family payment options and tax breaks to help procure a caregiver’s allowance.Know More
Some states implement programs to help individuals pay for their caregiver of choice. In some cases, particularly “participant-directed”, “consumer-directed” and “cash and counseling programs,” you can receive an allowance for providing care to a family member.
Benefits are also available when providing care to veterans. Providing care to wartime veterans or their spouses makes you eligible for “Aid and Attendance” benefits to help for in-home care, nursing care and assisted living resources. To procure these benefits, the veteran must require assistance with daily living activities, such as changing clothes, going to the bathroom and/or bathing. Moreover, the spouse or veteran’s income must not exceed $13,362 for surviving spouses and $20,795 for veterans.
A 2010 law also provides monthly payments to primary caregivers of veterans injured in battle after September 11th. For more information on these benefits, please contact 1-877-222-VETS.
The federal government also provides tax breaks if you pay at least half of your family member’s yearly expenses and if his/her annual income does not exceed $3,900 (excluding Social Security payments). If so, you may claim your family member as a dependent on your taxes, and reduce your taxable income. You may also claim the family member you are providing care for as a dependent if the living expenses you pay exceed 10 percent of your adjusted gross income.Learn more about Taxes
Foster care allowance payments vary widely dependent upon the state. In the state of Texas, the foster care allowance for a two-year-old child, a nine-year-old child or a 16-year-old teenager is $652 per month.Full Answer >
Vehicle tax, or vehicle excise tax, is calculated by the state and includes the value of the car as determined by the state, the state tax rate minus the exemption for value, and the number of calendar days out of 365 that the registration is active. The tax begins on the day the owner registers the vehicle at his state's department of motor vehicles.Full Answer >
When a business (either a corporation or a limited liability company) is registered with the state of Pennsylvania, the Department of Revenue automatically issues a tax ID number. It takes up to 2 months to receive the account number.Full Answer >
As of June 2014, Stamp Duty is payable either at the time of purchase or within 30 days of document execution, according to HM Revenue & Customs. If the Stamp Duty is not paid within 30 days, additional penalties and interest may be applicable.Full Answer >