The process for eviction in California is done through a series of notices and court proceedings, according to the Law Office of Melissa C. Marsh. The roommate's status in the home determines if the roommate can be evicted, according to FindLaw.
If a roommate is on the lease, only the landlord can serve the roommate with eviction documents to start the eviction process. If the roommate is a subtenant who rents directly from the primary tenant, the primary tenant can begin the eviction process only if the roommate violates a clause of the lease, according to the City of Berkeley.
The process for eviction is the same regardless of who initiates it. The person being evicted must be served with a 3-day notice to pay or quit, a 30-day notice to vacate or a 60-day notice to vacate. If the person doesn't move out by the end of that period, the complainant, who is the person making the complaint, can file an unlawful detainer lawsuit, which the Law Office of Melissa C. Marsh notes is the formal eviction proceeding.
A defendant tenant or subtenant has five days to answer the summons and complaint once it is served to them after the lawsuit is filed. If they fail to answer, the court orders a default judgement, which requires the person to move out. If the person answers the summons and complaint, a trial can be requested to determine the final outcome of the case.
If the matter goes to trial, the court issues a judgement. If the judgment is against the defendant, that person must move out in accordance with the court order or face removal by law enforcement. Monetary damages, such as past due rent might be awarded to the complainant. If the complainant loses, no further action can be taken against the defendant for the same matter, and the roommate is allowed to remain in the dwelling.Learn More
According to MarketWatch, some of the most affordable places in California as of 2012 include San Luis Obispo, San Diego, Eureka and Palm Springs. MarketWatch rates the affordability of these cities based upon population, the median home price, the cost of living and the unemployment rate. In 2009, Forbes rated the most affordable city in California as Modesto, which it listed as the 91st most affordable city in the country.Full Answer >
In California, landlords use a 3-day notice to pay rent or quit when a tenant is behind on rent. If the rent is not paid in three days, the tenant may be evicted. These notices are not court forms, but many of them can be found online. It is good practice to consult an experienced attorney to ensure the form is completed properly.Full Answer >
To ask a roommate to move out, use tact, diplomacy and consideration. Asking a roommate to move out can be an awkward conversation — especially if you're also friends. Some roommate behavior can make broaching the subject necessary.Full Answer >
When a roommate does not pay his fair share of the rent, it is the responsibility of the other tenants to cover the missing portion if all parties signed a joint lease agreement. Holding a roommate meeting about the tardy rent might resolve the situation.Full Answer >