In the state of Florida, occupational licenses are local business taxes that must be paid when operating a home-based or commercial business. The amount of tax is assessed based on the business location, classification, number of employees and square footage.Know More
The Florida state legislature changed the name of the tax from occupational license to business tax receipt in 2006. By law, the business tax receipt must be prominently displayed in the establishment, in a place where it can be easily viewed by the public or inspected by officials. Each business location needs to pay for a separate business tax receipt. Multiple types of businesses located under the same roof need separate business tax receipts in order to operate legally. The tax payment needs to be renewed annually, but it can be transferred when moving locations, changing ownership or making a business name change.
In Miami-Dade county, the lowest cost for a business tax receipt is $37.50, as of February 2015. Catering services, repair shops, day care facilities, funeral homes and pest-control services pay a base tax of $45 each year. Cable- and satellite-television franchises, with one to 10 employees, pay $1,050 for their business tax receipts. A business owner can be subject to civil penalties and actions if the assessed tax is not paid within 150 days of initial notice or a business does not obtain the required receipt.Learn more about Careers
To transfer your nursing license to Florida, review the licensing requirements of the Florida Board of Nursing, submit an application for licensure by endorsement with the appropriate fees, get fingerprinted, and request license verification from your current nursing board. This process takes multiple days to complete.Full Answer >
To transfer an active cosmetology license to another state, the licensed cosmetologist must contact the state board of cosmetology of the state in which they wish to work. According to Colleges and Degrees, all states have different licensing requirements. Therefore, it is up to the state issuing the license to determine whether a license can be simply transferred or if additional schooling, training or testing is needed to obtain a new license.Full Answer >
As of January 1, 2004, all drivers over the age of 80 are required to take a vision test prior to license renewal in the state of Florida. Vision exams are available at no charge at all state Department of Motor Vehicle license bureaus.Full Answer >
Occupational therapists help treat injured, disabled and sick people through therapeutic use of day-to-day activities. These professionals help such individuals to recover or develop the necessary skills for normal life and productivity.Full Answer >