Q:

At what age can a child start kindergarten in Florida?

A:

Quick Answer

As of June 2014, Florida law states that children can enter kindergarten if they have their fifth birthday either on or before September 1 of that year. Children who turn five after September 1 cannot attend kindergarten until the next year; no waivers are given. Children who live in Florida are not required to attend kindergarten.

Know More

Full Answer

According to the Florida Department of Education, children must attend school when they are six or when they will turn six by February 1 of the school year. Children in Florida must attend school regularly until they are at least 16 years old. Once students turn 16, they do not need to continue to attend school if they file a formal termination with the school.

Learn more about K-12
Sources:

Related Questions

  • Q:

    What is K-12 education?

    A:

    The educational system called K-12 education refers to the combination of primary and secondary education that children receive from kindergarten until 12th grade, typically starting at ages 4-6 and continuing through ages 17-19. The K-12 educational system is used in the United States as well as several other countries in the world including Canada, Australia, Turkey and the Philippines. Although the K-12 curriculum varies among states and between nations, the concept of providing students with fundamental knowledge at no cost is universal.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    Should you use workbooks for 6-year-olds?

    A:

    Most 6-year-olds are in kindergarten or first grade in the United States, and there are differing opinions on whether or not workbooks aid learning at this age. Therefore, the decision to use workbooks for 6-year-olds must be decided upon by each school administration.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How old are you if you are in the seventh grade?

    A:

    If a girl starts kindergarten at the age of 5, she will be 12 years old at the beginning of the seventh grade. This is assuming that she advanced one grade each year.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is the cut-off date for a child to start kindergarten in Woodbridge, VA?

    A:

    As of 2014, the cutoff date is September 30 to start kindergarten in Woodbridge, Va., according to Prince William County guidelines. Children must be 5 years old, unless they begin kindergarten in another state and transfer. This exception accommodates the large, mobile military population in Virginia.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore