How many semesters are in a school year?
Credit:YinYangE+Getty Images

How many semesters are in a school year?


Quick Answer

There are two semesters in a school year. Semester length and timing vary based on the school, but traditionally, colleges split the school year into a fall and spring semester.

 Know More

Full Answer

Schools with a fall and spring semester often offer classes during the winter and summer, but these are not counted as semesters. Certain schools use a quarter system, with each season considered a quarter. Two semesters are equivalent to three quarters. Other schools use trimesters, with classes in the fall, winter, and spring. These three trimesters are equal to two semesters. A smaller amount of schools use a block calendar system, where one class is taken at a time in four-week blocks.

Learn more about Colleges & Universities

Related Questions