Understanding the Colorado divorce laws if you are a resident of the state is important. Unfortunately, more marriages in America end in divorce than last throughout a lifetime. This is certainly no exception in the state of Colorado, so having some insight on the subject can help you if you are planning on getting a divorce.
Divorce in the state of Colorado is generally divided into three stages -- the preliminary stage, the interim stage and finally, the final stage. During the preliminary stage, one member of the soon to be former couple files a summons and petition to the court in their local district. Shortly thereafter, the other party is served. It can take at least 90 days before the divorce decree will be granted, and your spouse is required to present a response to the court within 20 days of being served with your papers. At this time, you will have to plan for separation of your assets, collection of your financial papers and find separate living quarters for you and any children, if you have any.
In the interim stage of divorce in Colorado, you will have to file for a temporary order in regard to your finances and children, if necessary. This is generally the most stressful time of a divorce, and plans for settlement will be devised as well. It is advisable to meet with a financial advisor or accountant to assist you in making plans regarding your finances.
The final stage of divorce in Colorado occurs within two to four months after the filing. This is when you will have to negotiate plans with your ex and come up with agreements regarding your children. You will have to appear before a judge for a final hearing if you cannot come to an agreement, and you can expect permanent orders being declared. Your final paperwork will be examined during this time, and in the case of couples who do not have children, both parties do not necessarily have to appear in court. Instead, a nonappearance affidavit can be filed if one party does not want to appear.