Chewing gum contains gum base, sweeteners, flavorings, colorings, preservatives and softeners. The original gum base was chicle, the latex sap of the sapodilla tree, which is native to Central America. Modern gum is made with a synthetic gum base.Know More
The synthetic gum base is made of food-grade polymers, for example, polyethylene and polyvinyl acetate, and these are what give gum its elastic properties. The sweeteners may be either natural or artificial, such as aspartame. Chewing gum with artificial sweeteners is generally known as sugarless gum.
The human body does not digest either natural or synthetic gum base. If gum is swallowed, it is generally excreted whole.Learn more in Desserts
Non-dairy whipped topping can be made by whipping coconut cream with a bit of sugar and vanilla extract. Coconut cream sets up like heavy whipping cream to form a whipped topping.Full Answer >
Ice cream is made by combining milk-based dairy ingredients with sweeteners, flavorings and stabilizers, and then pasteurizing the mixture. Once pasteurized, it goes into a machine to be simultaneously agitated and frozen. Solid mix-ins, such as candy pieces or nuts, are added once the ice cream reaches a semi-frozen state.Full Answer >
A football-shaped cake can be made by baking a round cake as well as a square one, then splitting and trimming the square one to fit around the round cake to form a football shape. The cake is then decorated with brown frosting and white icing stripes to resemble laces.Full Answer >
To make a cake with tie dyed coloring, divide batches of white cake batter into separate bowls. Use bright food coloring to make each batch of cake batter into different colors. With a tablespoon, drop the assorted batters randomly into your cake pan. Follow the baking instructions that came with the cake mix. Once the cake is cool, frost it with canned or homemade frosting.Full Answer >