What does curry taste like?
Credit:Divya KuduaCC-BY 2.0
Q:

What does curry taste like?

A:

Quick Answer

Curry has a unique flavor that is deep and earthy from the blend of savory spices, but also has certain brightness due to the sweet spices in it. It is actually a mix of spices that includes cumin, coriander, turmeric, pepper, mustard, ginger, clove, cardamom, bay leaf and fenugreek.

 Know More

Full Answer

The level of heat in a curry powder is determined by what type of and how much pepper is in it. Hot curries usually have red chillies or other hot peppers, while mild curries may have black pepper or ginger. Curry powder is an all-purpose seasoning that is commonly used in soups, stews, sauces, marinades, meat and vegetables.

Learn more about Food Facts

Related Questions

  • Q:

    What is a complete list of non-carbohydrate food items?

    A:

    Non-carbohydrate food items include lean proteins, fats, herbs, spices and beverages that are not added to carbohydrate-rich mixers. Low-carbohydrate vegetables such as lettuce typically contain less than 5 grams of carbohydrates per serving.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What types of food do people eat in Barbados?

    A:

    People in Barbados eat Bajan food, which is a hybrid blend of British, African and Indian cuisine styles. The national dish is cou-cou served with flying fish; this dish is a food that is made from corn meal and okra. Other staples include local fish, sweet potatoes and yams, breadfruit, rice, cassava and pasta. The most prominent foods on the island are sugar, rice, potatoes, molasses and corn.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is the best yogurt for probiotics?

    A:

    Stonyfield yogurt uses a live culture blend of probiotics, which includes Streptococcus thermophilus, Lactobacillus bulgaricus, Lactobacillus acidophilus, Bifidus, Lactobacillus casei and Lactobacillus. These probiotics aid the digestive tract.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    Is margarine a dairy product?

    A:

    Margarine is made from soybean oil or a blend of vegetable oils instead of cow's milk, but most margarine brands still contain small amounts of dairy products, such as lactose, casein and whey. A few margarine varieties that are completely dairy-free include Blue Bonnet Light, Smart Balance Light and Earth Balance.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore