What is Dairy Queen ice cream made with?
Credit:Ian MuttooCC-BY-SA 2.0
Q:

What is Dairy Queen ice cream made with?

A:

Quick Answer

According to its website, Dairy Queen vanilla soft service ice cream is made with milkfat, nonfat milk, sugar, corn syrup, whey, mono and diglycerides, artificial flavor, guar gum, polysorbate 80, carrageenan, and vitamin A palmitate. To make chocolate soft serve ice cream, Dairy Qyeen adds cocoa processed with alkalai to those ingredients.

 Know More

Full Answer

The specific recipe to make Dairy Queen soft serve ice cream is a company secret. While the ingredients are listed for dietary purposes, the specific amounts of each ingredient is not disclosed. All Dairy Queen products are made with either vanilla or chocolate soft serve ice cream, or a combination of the two. The addition of a variety of toppings are added to the basic ice cream recipe to create different treats. A fan favorite is a Blizzard, which is a choice of toppings blended into chocolate or vanilla ice cream. Customers can also choose a twist, which is chocolate on one side and vanilla on the other.

The first Dairy Queen store opened in 1940, in Joliet, Ill. The ice cream recipe has been virtually unchanged since then, though new products have been introduced throughout the years. The first Dilly Bar debuted in 1955, the Mister Misty slush rolled out in 1961, the Treatzza Pizza came out in 1995, and the MooLatte frozen coffee flavored beverage debuted in 2004. Dairy Queen's slogan, “We Treat You Right,” has been in use since 1985.

Learn more about Desserts

Related Questions

  • Q:

    What are some other names for high-fructose corn syrup?

    A:

    In the United States, common names for high-fructose corn syrup include maize syrup, tapioca syrup, glucose/fructose syrup, glucose syrup, Dahlia syrup and crystalline glucose. In 2012, the Corn Refiners Association unsuccessfully petitioned the FDA to call the product corn sugar. In Europe, the sweetener is called isoglucose.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    Does ice cream contain gluten?

    A:

    Whether ice cream contains gluten depends on the flavor and brand selected. It is best to read the label, while keeping in mind that gluten cross-contamination is possible if the ice cream is produced on the same production line as food that contains gluten.

    Full Answer >
  • Q:

    What foods are carbs?

    A:

    Foods with carbohydrates include grains, fruits, dairy products, some vegetables and items that contain sugar or corn syrup. Foods that contain carbs and have high fiber content and high amounts of nutrients are considered good carbs because they lower a person's cholesterol.

    Full Answer >
  • Q:

    What is the difference between gelato and ice cream?

    A:

    The main differences between ice cream and gelato are the amount of air in the mixture, fat content, serving temperature, flavor and texture. Ice cream typically uses much more heavy cream and eggs than gelato, which relies more on whole milk and rarely contains eggs. This makes gelato less fatty than ice cream and allows the flavors to be more pronounced rather than subdued by cream.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore