Q:

What is the difference between mayonnaise and salad dressing?

A:

Quick Answer

The main differences between mayonnaise and salad dressing are vegetable oil content and flavor. Mayonnaise, which originated in 18th-century Spain, is an emulsion of egg yolks, oil and lemon juice or vinegar. Salad dressing which was created in the 1900s as a less-expensive alternative uses less oil and more flavorings.

Know More
What is the difference between mayonnaise and salad dressing?
Credit: milanfoto E+ Getty Images

Full Answer

According to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, any product labeled as mayonnaise must contain at least 65 percent vegetable oil by weight. Plain mayonnaise does not contain many additional herbs, spices or sugar. Salad dressing blends mayonnaise with less expensive components, powdered egg products, high fructose corn syrup, cornstarch and herbs and spices such as mustard, paprika and garlic.

Learn More

Related Questions

  • Q:

    Is mayonnaise a dairy?

    A:

    Mayonnaise is made from eggs, oil and lemon juice and is not considered a dairy product. Eggs, which come from a chicken do not contain lactose like dairy products, which come from cow, goat or sheep milk.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    Where can I purchase Henri's salad dressings?

    A:

    As of 2014, Henri's salad dressings are available at Walmart, ShopFoodEx, Groceries-Express and Amazon in traditional 16.9-ounce bottles. ACH Food Companies, Henri's dressing manufacturer, offers Henri's salad dressings in portion packs and gallon sizes. In stores, Henri's Tas-Tee Sweet and Tangy is readily available. Some Kroger locations and some Walmart locations carry Henri's Tas-Tee Sweet and Tangy dressing. Henri's is less available in the Southeast.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is the difference between molasses and treacle?

    A:

    Molasses is a tasty by-product extracted during the process of refining sugar cane into sugar crystals. Treacle is blend of refinery syrup and molasses that ranges in color from light gold to nearly black.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is the difference between white and malt vinegar?

    A:

    The difference between white vinegar and malt vinegar is what the vinegars are made from and how they are made. White vinegar is quite simple: It is made from either acetic acid produced in a laboratory or grain-based ethanol, then diluted with water. It is the most commonly used vinegar in households around the world. Malt vinegar is made from barley kernels, and the process to make it is complicated.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore