Q:

What is the difference between sago and tapioca?

A:

Quick Answer

Tapioca is made from the starchy root of the cassava tree, whereas sago is made from the inner part, or pith, of the stem of the sago palm tree. They are similar, flavorless starches that are used in cooking and baking, and they can be used interchangeably in many recipes. Both tapioca and sago are used to make puddings and baked goods, and to thicken soups, stews and pie fillings.

Know More
What is the difference between sago and tapioca?
Credit: Westend61 Getty Images

Full Answer

Both tapioca and sago are almost pure carbohydrates, and are basically fat-and protein-free foods. Despite their nutritional deficiencies, they are staples in some cultures. Sago is a staple in Indonesia and Malaysia, where it is used to make white bread, noodles and fish sausage. It can also be used to make steamed puddings, pancakes and biscuits.

Tapioca originated in Brazil and is now heavily used throughout South America and Africa. Tapioca pudding, made from tapioca pearls, is popular around the world and the pearls are used in bubble, or boba, tea. Both sago and tapioca are used in Indian cooking. Because it is gluten-free, tapioca starch is widely used in gluten-free specialty foods and some chewy candies. It is used as a binder and stabilizer in foods such as chicken nuggets. Sago is also used commercially in sizing textiles.

Learn more about Sweets

Related Questions

  • Q:

    Can you eat the wrapper of orbit gum?

    A:

    Orbit gum wrappers are not made for human consumption and should not be eaten. The materials inside of the wrapper are not toxic, but they are not meant to be ingested.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is gelato made of?

    A:

    Gelato is made of egg yolks, sugar, milk and flavoring ingredients, such as fresh fruits, nuts and chocolates. The traditional way of making gelato is by mixing, heating and chilling the first three ingredients. The flavor ingredients are then added and batched to freeze and incorporate air into the mixture.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is chocolate made of?

    A:

    Chocolate is made from the seeds of the cocoa tree. Its ingredients generally include cocoa butter, sugar, lecithin and in some cases vegetable fat. Milk and speciality chocolates may have additional ingredients such as milk, fruits and nuts.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is molasses made of?

    A:

    Common molasses is made from sugar beets and sugarcane, although other molasses-like syrups can be produced from sorghum, carob, grapes, pomegranates, mulberries and dates. Sugarcane molasses, known as black treacle in British English, comes in three varieties based on color and viscosity: light, dark and black strap.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore