Disadvantages of eating organic food include higher costs and lower availability than conventional products. Farmers producing organic products do not use certain fertilizers and pesticides to encourage crop growth and prevent spread of weeds. Although doing this produces environmental benefits, it also reduces output and impacts consumer prices.Know More
Organic farmers face higher risks of crop threats than conventional farmers. Their crops develop less resistance to natural factors like drought and disease. Lower resistance produces crop damage and reduced output, which necessitate price increases. Organic farmers also produce lower-quality crops without assistance from conventional agricultural products. Organic products typically take longer to reach store shelves than conventional products.The harvest, shipment and distribution process lengthens for organic crops. In turn, these crops appear older and less fresh upon reaching consumers.
Lack of predictable availability detracts from organic crops' appeal too. Consumers often find traditional agricultural products in stores year-round. Organic products, however, arrive during specific seasons. Organic farmers grow organic crops for consumption in raw form and for the production of other grocery items. Food manufacturers use labels indicating compliance with federal organic requirements, as outlined by the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA). Labels indicate the amount of organic substances in products. Items bearing 100 percent organic labels derive from all organic ingredients. All items with labels stating "organic" must contain at least 95 percent organic ingredients.Learn more about Food Facts
Insects found in boxes of pasta, rice and other household pantry products are often already present when the food item is purchased. The most common grain-eaters are weevils, meal moths and beetles.Full Answer >
Disadvantages associated with autoclaved aerated concrete, or AAC, include increased cost, poor consistency and increased training necessary to properly build a structure when compared to similar products.Full Answer >
As long as the bagels are made without hen eggs or any bovine-related dairy products, they are considered to be vegan. In most recipes, bagels only contain yeast, flour, salt, water and food for the yeast, which can be malt powder, malt syrup or sugar.Full Answer >
The Quaker oatmeal company does not label any of their oat products as gluten free because cross contact with gluten-containing grains is possible during transport of the oats. Some of the gluten-containing grains that the oats can potentially mix with during transport include wheat, rye and barley.Full Answer >