Substitutes for Gruyere cheese include plain Swiss, fontina, Gouda, Abondance, Appenzell, Emmentaler, mild provolone, Cantal, Graviera or raclette. Additionally, consumers can substitute standard Swiss Gruyere with Gruyere varieties, such as Beaufort and Comte. When selecting a substitute, look for cheeses with similar nuttiness, a firm texture and a reputation for melting smoothly.Know More
When choosing a substitute, it is important to consider the qualities of the cheese and the use in the recipe. For example, Abondance, fontina, raclette and Beaufort melt similarly to Gruyere, while Comte has a nutty, slightly sweet flavor that is very similar to Gruyere.
Gruyere cheese is a type of Swiss cheese made from whole milk that has been cured for at least six months. It has several small holes formed by gases released during the cheese-making process. It has a firm texture, pale yellow color and a rich, mildly nutty flavor that becomes more complex and earthy with age. Gruyere is used to make fondue, hot sandwiches, soufflés and gratins. It is also used as a table cheese. Much like other Swiss, or Alpine, cheeses, the full-bodied flavor of Gruyere pairs well with wines, such as Riesling, Beaujolais, Merlot and Sauvignon Blanc. It also goes well with pale ales and lager-style beers.Learn more about Substitutions
Substitutes for ground ginger or powdered ginger include grated ginger root, candied or crystallized ginger, allspice, cardamom, cinnamon, nutmeg and mace. Grated ginger root can be substituted for ground ginger, by using 2 tablespoons of grated ginger root for 1 teaspoon of ground ginger.Full Answer >
Substitutes for white balsamic vinegar include white wine vinegar or rice wine vinegar. White balsamic vinegar does not change the color of other ingredients in recipes, such as prawns or scallops, so one should not substitute it for red vinegar or standard balsamic vinegar varieties.Full Answer >
Substitutes for Jell-o in a recipe include gelatin alternatives such as agar-agar or carageen. Other options include products that perform similarly to Jell-o, but aren't animal-based, making them acceptable for vegans to use. Examples include kosher gelatin and Vegan Jel, made by Natural Desserts.Full Answer >
Substitutes for Marsala wine include grape juice and brandy, white wine and brandy and Madeira wine. Marsala wine has a flavor that is difficult to emulate and is a fortified wine similar to port or sherry that is oftentimes used in gourmet and traditional recipes.Full Answer >