Sugar, or granulated sucrose, is a colorless, sweet-tasting crystalline powder that usually comes from a cane sugar or sugar beet. It is also called table sugar and is used as a sweetener in food.Know More
After it is extracted, sucrose is purified and crystallized before being ready for use in recipes such as desserts and candies. This carbohydrate is useful for its sweet taste and structural properties. Chemically, sucrose is a disaccharide made of fructose and glucose, which are both monosaccharides.
Sucrose can be melted into caramel, in which it forms a noncrystalline structure. It also breaks down into carbon, carbon dioxide and water to be rapidly metabolized by the body.
Other types of sugar include galactose, maltose, ribose and xylose. All of them have sweetening and tenderizing properties.Learn more about Dry Ingredients
Vegan sugar does not contain animal ingredients. Commercially produced cane sugar is processed with bone char; this form of charcoal is produced from animal bones and is used as a purification filter for the sugar. Sugar processed with bone char is not vegan.Full Answer >
The production of sugar involves boiling the juice of sugar beets or sugarcane to crystallize the sugar. Spinning, perforated, metal baskets isolate the crystals from the syrup, and dryers evaporate excess water and cool the sugar.Full Answer >
Using powdered sugar in a recipe that calls for granulated sugar means substituting 1 3/4 cups of powdered sugar for every 1 cup of granulated sugar the recipe calls for. However, baked goods such as cookies and cakes will not rise as well with powdered sugar.Full Answer >
White, granulated sugar packaged for consumers typically weighs 1, 2, 4, 5, 10 or 25 pounds. Other common sugars, such as confectioner's sugar and brown sugar, are usually sold in 2-pound bags.Full Answer >