Q:

What is rice starch?

A:

Rice starch is a fine-grained, tasteless white powder obtained by processing raw rice. It is inexpensive, hypoallergenic and non-toxic. Rice starch is an important ingredient in body care products because it has no aroma. Other products made with rice starch include medicines, jarred baby food and processed food mixes.

According to Westphalia Separator, there are three types of rice starch. Highly absorbent non-waxy starch appears in baby food and powdered sauce mixes because its tiny particle size makes it a powerful thickener. It also promotes healthful digestion. Non-waxy rice starch only thickens after boiling and cooling. Prepared Foods states that waxy rice starch adds a smooth, creamy texture to soups and sauces. It does not require boiling. The third type of rice starch, modified rice starch, is a popular vegan substitute for traditional powdered gelatin.

Westphalia Separator reveals that commercial rice starch extraction begins with broken raw rice soaked in caustic soda for at least 12 hours that is then passed through a series of mechanical separators. These machines use wet and dry methods to gradually isolate and extract the starch. The final steps in rice starch extraction are drying and packaging. Rice starch extraction produces large quantities of fiber and protein residue. Farm animal feed often contains this nutritionally dense detritus.


Is this answer helpful?

Similar Questions

  • Q:

    Can I substitute cornstarch for potato starch?

    A:

    Cornstarch is an excellent substitute for potato starch. The ingredients are interchangeable in equal amounts. Both starches are popular thickening agents, and the primary difference between them is that cornstarch produces a more opaque result. However, About.com explains that cornstarch is not a suitable baking substitute for potato flour, which has a forceful potato taste.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are some substitutes for rice wine vinegar?

    A:

    Rice wine vinegar can be substituted with white wine vinegar, apple cider vinegar with a pinch of sugar, or a mixture of three parts white vinegar and one part water. A recipe with rice wine vinegar typically intends for white rice vinegar to be used, not red or black rice.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is a substitute for lighter fluid while grilling?

    A:

    A good substitute for lighter fluid when it comes to grilling is using twigs and matches. Start a small fire with brittle twigs, and then add stronger twigs and wood chunks until a solid fire is burning. After the fire is strong, add charcoal and grill as normal.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What can I substitute for tahini?

    A:

    Replace tahini with peanut butter to enjoy the same nutty flavor with a twist, or use sesame oil in its place to maintain the sesame flavor in a dish. While both have a slightly different taste than tahini, they are suitable substitutes that are often times easier to find.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore