Q:

Is Velveeta gluten-free?

A:

Quick Answer

Velveeta is gluten-free; none of its ingredients contain gluten. Kraft Foods does not label this product as being certified gluten-free, which means there is a chance of cross-contamination.

Know More
Is Velveeta gluten-free?
Credit: Mike Mozart CC-BY 2.0

Full Answer

Velveeta is a processed cheese product with a smoother texture than cheese. The name derives from the velvety consistency the product maintains when it is melted. Velveeta was invented in 1918 and later sold to Kraft Foods in 1927. Popular uses for Velveeta include grilled cheese sandwiches, queso dip, and macaroni and cheese. Velveeta is also available in Sharp Cheddar, Jalapeño, Mexican and 2% Milk varieties. The Velveeta brand has been spun off into a product line that includes several varieties of macaroni and cheese dinner kits, Cheesy Skillet dinner kits and Cheesy Potatoes kits.

Learn more about Cheese

Related Questions

  • Q:

    Is barley a gluten-free food?

    A:

    Barley is not gluten-free as it is one of three grains that are primarily gluten-based, according to About.com. Barley seeds are known to contain gluten, but the presence of gluten in barley grass used in vitamins is not completely clear. Most food items are created with the barley seeds.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    Are Galaxy Minstrels gluten-free?

    A:

    Galaxy Minstrels are gluten-free. Its list of ingredients includes sugar, carnauba wax (glazing agent), skimmed milk, whey powder, dextrin, starch, cocoa butter, milk fat, lactose, natural colors, starch, vegetable oil and soya lecithin (emulsifier). The natural flavorings of this product, however, may contain nut traces.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is a comprehensive list of gluten-free foods?

    A:

    Berries, fruits, greens and whole vegetables are all gluten-free, according to About.com. Most canned and single-ingredient frozen fruits and vegetables are also gluten-free. Fresh meats such as pork, lamb, chicken and turkey, and most plain milk and yogurt are gluten-free. Gluten-free grains include corn, rice and quinoa.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What gluten-free yogurt brands are available?

    A:

    All yogurt is gluten-free unless it contains an added flavor that has gluten as an ingredient. Gluten is a component of grains, and therefore yogurt, being a dairy product, is essentially gluten-free.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore