Q:

Why do yeast need sugar?

A:

Quick Answer

Yeast are microscopic, one-celled fungi that humans commonly use to make fermented products like beer, bread and cheese. Yeast obtain food from sugars, which they break down through a process called fermentation to produce the energy that they need to sustain life, as well as the by-products of carbon dioxide and alcohol. It is these by-products that give yeast-fermented foods their properties.

  Know More

Full Answer

Yeast need sugars to grow and multiply. They are capable of breaking down fructose, glucose and other monosaccharides, but they cannot use starch as a food source because they lack the enzymes to break it down, according to HowStuffWorks. However, enzymes found in some starchy food products, such as germinating barley, change starch into sugar that the yeast can use. This is how sugar is generated for use by yeast in the process of brewing beer.

There are many different species of yeast, but the one most commonly used in cooking and baking is called Saccharomyces cerevisiae, or brewer's yeast. This yeast is sold in a dry, inactive form from which most of the moisture has been removed. The yeast comes to life and begins reproducing when it is exposed to liquid and a source of sugar on which it can feed.

Learn more about Dry Ingredients

Related Questions

  • Q:

    What is yeast?

    A:

    Yeast is a fungus. It is a eukaryotic, single-celled microorganism that belongs to the Fungi kingdom. Yeasts are classified into two different phyla: sac fungi and higher fungi. Many of them reproduce asexually by mitosis, specifically through a process called budding.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is Torula yeast used for?

    A:

    Torula yeast is a species of yeast that is used as a food additive because it has a meat-like flavor when cooked. It is used as a replacement for MSG to give foods a stronger umami flavor, a taste associated with the savory component of cheese, meat and mushrooms.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is vegan sugar?

    A:

    Vegan sugar does not contain animal ingredients. Commercially produced cane sugar is processed with bone char; this form of charcoal is produced from animal bones and is used as a purification filter for the sugar. Sugar processed with bone char is not vegan.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are the properties of sugar?

    A:

    Sugar, or granulated sucrose, is a colorless, sweet-tasting crystalline powder that usually comes from a cane sugar or sugar beet. It is also called table sugar and is used as a sweetener in food.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore