What countries does the Tropic of Capricorn pass through?


Quick Answer

The Tropic of Capricorn passes through the countries of Australia, Chile, Brazil and South Africa. Brazil is the only country through which both the equator and a tropic travel. The Tropic of Capricorn largely passes through water.

Know More
What countries does the Tropic of Capricorn pass through?
Credit: Douglas Scortegagna CC-BY 2.0

Full Answer

The Tropic of Capricorn is an imaginary line located at 23.5 degrees latitude south of the equator. It is the southernmost point on Earth where the sun's rays may be located directly above at local noon. The Tropic of Capricorn is geographically significant because it marks the southern boundary of the tropics. The tropics region is defined as the region that extends from the equator in a southward direction toward the Tropic of Capricorn and northward toward the Tropic of Cancer. The Tropic of Capricorn got its name from when the sun crossed into the Capricorn constellation about 2,000 years ago at the winter solstice. As of 2014, however, the Tropic of Capricorn is actually situated in the Sagittarius constellation.

The Tropic of Cancer lies at 23.5 degrees latitude north of the equator. It travels through Mexico, the Bahamas, Egypt, Saudi Arabia, India and China. The sun is directly above the Tropic of Cancer each year on June 21, marking the beginning of summer for the northern hemisphere and the beginning of winter for the southern hemisphere.

Learn more about Maps & Cartography

Related Questions