What are the names of the seven seas?
Credit:BrunoCC-BY-SA 2.0

What are the names of the seven seas?


Quick Answer

The seven seas are the Adriatic, Aegean, Black, Mediterranean, Caspian and Red seas, and the Persian Gulf was thought of as its own sea. The so-called Seven Seas made their way into English literature via Greek literature and can be traced to the ancient world.

 Know More

Full Answer

Although most people in modern times don't use the term "seven seas," one could refer to the Arctic, South Atlantic, North Atlantic, South Pacific, North Pacific, Southern ocean and Indian ocean as a collective group of "seven seas." However, most people divide them geographically into the Antarctic, Arctic, Indian, Pacific and Atlantic, making today's world home to only five "seas."

Learn more about Bodies of Water

Related Questions