Q:

What is 6th degree larceny?

A:

Quick Answer

According to Connecticut's judicial branch, 6th degree larceny is applied to cases where larceny results in property theft that has a market value of $500 or less. Larceny is a technical word for theft; 6th degree larceny is the least serious of the forms of larceny.

Know More
What is 6th degree larceny?
Credit: Chris Fertnig E+ Getty Images

Full Answer

In contrast to 6th degree, 1st degree larceny is the most serious because it deals with property values exceeding $20,000. As of Apr. 2010, for a defendant to be found guilty of larceny the state must prove three elements. Firstly, that theft did occur, secondly, the defendant had larcenous intent, and then also that the property value of items taken. These points must be proven beyond a reasonable doubt.

Learn More
Sources:

Related Questions

  • Q:

    Where can people apply electronically for Act 33 and Act 34 clearances?

    A:

    Act 33 and Act 34 clearances can be applied for electronically through the websites of the Pennsylvania Department of Education (PDE) and the Pennsylvania State Police (PSP). The PDE contains a section called Cogent Systems, which is a section dedicated to helping people apply for clearances mandated by the Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI). In Pennsylvania, individuals pursuing professional careers as teachers must clear federal requirements for Act 33, Act 34 and Act 24 before beginning work that involves interacting with students.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is a first degree felony in Texas?

    A:

    According to Sullo and Sullo Attorneys at Law, first-degree felonies are serious crimes in the state of Texas that are second only to capital felonies in terms of severity. Those convicted of first-degree felonies are likely to receive harsh punishments, including expensive fines, lengthy probation periods and considerable amounts of prison time.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is a first-degree felony in Florida?

    A:

    A first degree felony in Florida is a crime that is punishable by more than one year, up to 30 years imprisonment, 30 years in the department of corrections or a fine of $10,000. The common first degree felonies include burglary with battery and assault, trafficking of controlled substances, lascivious or lewd battery, kidnapping, exploiting the elderly an amount of $100,000 or more, child molestation and sexual battery.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is a first degree misdemeanor in Florida?

    A:

    According to the Florida State Department of Law Enforcement, a first degree misdemeanor in Florida is a crime that is considered less serious than a felony but more serious than a second degree misdemeanor. Some examples of first degree misdemeanors in the state of Florida include resisting arrest, animal cruelty, possession of cannabis and some types of theft.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore