Children of any age cannot chose a custodial parent; instead a judge makes the decision to whom to award joint or sole custody, according to the Oregon courts. The child can be asked by the judge about his choice, though, and the older the child, the more his choice matters in the case.Know More
Courts rule on custody of a child in cases such as divorce, separation or termination of parental rights. The outcome determines who takes care of the child, controls him and provides for him. There are two types of custody: physical and legal. The former refers to where the child lives, while the latter determines who makes important legal decision for the child. Custody can be sole or joint. Furthermore, other adults, such as grandparents, may be awarded custody.
The judge makes a decision bearing the child's best interests in mind. These include factors such as with whom the child has strong emotional ties, how the parents treat the child, whether one parent abuses another and how committed the parents are to foster the relationship between the child and the other parent. Factors such as income and lifestyle of a particular parent only come into play if these are likely to cause the child emotional or physical harm.Learn more about Legal Ages
To get child support, the custodial parent must contact the child support office within the state where the parent and the children reside and complete an application to apply, according to the U.S. Office of Child Support Enforcement. Paternity must be established before child support can be ordered.Full Answer >
The age a child needs to be to ride in the front seat legally varies from state to state, explains the Governors Highway Safety Association. Children ages 12 years and under need to ride in the back seat of a motor vehicle, advises the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.Full Answer >
A minor, unless already emancipated, is not legally empowered to make the decision for herself. Although it is possible for grandparents to gain custody of a grandchild under certain circumstances, the grandparents or another interested adult must initiate the petition for custody.Full Answer >
Oklahoma state law forbids body piercing, including belly button piercings, for people under 18 years of age unless they have permission from a parent or legal guardian. Individual piercing studios may follow even more stringent piercing guidelines or may require photo identification as evidence of age.Full Answer >