According to Just Drive PA, it is strongly recommended that only children over 13 years of age should ride in the front passenger seat. The expulsion of a passenger-side airbag is too much of a risk for small children.
Children under 13 are often not large enough to safely withstand the impact of an airbag. Just Drive PA states that children from birth to 12 months are required to ride in a rear-facing car seat. Children 1 to 3 years of age are required to stay in a rear-facing seat until they meet the weight limit allowed by the seat's manufacturer. Children 4 to 7 years of age are required to ride in a forward-facing car seat until they meet the weight limit set by the car seat's manufacturer. Children 8 to 12 years of age are required to remain in a booster seat until they are large enough to properly wear a seat belt.Learn More
As of 2014, Virginia law allows children over the age of 8 to ride in the front or rear seats using only a seat belt. There is no law prohibiting children from riding in the front seat of a car, but the Virginia Department of Health recommends that children younger than 13 years of age be restrained in the rear seats when possible.Full Answer >
There is no specific weight that allows a child to sit in the front passenger seat. Children ages 12 and under should ride properly restrained in the back seat of the vehicle.Full Answer >
The youngest age a child can babysit siblings is approximately 12 to 13 years of age. The 12-to-13 age range represents a benchmark and not an absolute. A number of factors play into identifying the youngest age a child is permitted to babysit siblings, including the maturity level of the intended babysitter.Full Answer >
According to Nationwide Children's, children should not ride in the front seat if under 13 years old. By law, children under 4 years old and weighing 40 pounds or less must ride in a safety seat.Full Answer >