Q:

What age can children ride in the front seat of a car?

A:

Quick Answer

According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, children 12 years of age or younger should not ride in the front seat. In the event of an accident, airbags can injure or kill young children.

Know More
What age can children ride in the front seat of a car?
Credit: Dan Kenyon Stone Getty Images

Full Answer

In addition to recommendations from health officials, individual states may have laws regulating the age, height or weight a child must be before riding in the front seat. For example, the State of New Jersey Office of the Attorney General states that children under 8 years of age and weighing less than 80 pounds must ride in the back seat unless no back seat is available. Such laws may also mandate use of a booster seat.

Learn more about Legal Ages

Related Questions

  • Q:

    How old and big does a child have to be to ride in the front seat in Indiana?

    A:

    Indiana state law has no specific restriction on the seating position of children in vehicles. It does, however, set forth a number of rules regarding car safety for children.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is the legal age for children to stay home alone overnight?

    A:

    In the United States, no federal law exists setting an age at which children can stay home along unsupervised, although some states have certain restrictions on age for children to stay home alone as well as duration of unsupervised period. Generally, individual families have quite a bit of flexibility in determining when children are physically and emotionally mature enough to remain home without parental supervision. Although most states do not have specific ages for leaving kids alone, some states, such as Maryland, require children who are age 8 or younger to have adult supervision, such as a babysitter or nanny, when parents must leave the home.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    At what age can children be left home alone in Pennsylvania?

    A:

    Pennsylvania law does not specify an age at which children may be left home alone. This important question has gained national attention recently as parents try to decide when their children are old enough to be left to care for themselves or others.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are car booster seat guidelines?

    A:

    Car booster seats should be used for children from approximately age 5 and up until the child outgrows it and is big enough for seatbelts to fit properly. Car booster seats are front-facing, and children using them should only ride in the back seat.

    Full Answer >

Explore