A foster child who is pregnant and is under the age of 18 should first notify their caseworker and foster parents of the pregnancy. After this first step, there are many options available for pregnant foster children, and the United States Department of Health and Human Services lists several advocacy groups that focus specifically on pregnant teenagers who are in foster care.Know More
Since a foster child is a ward of the state in which he or she resides, the caseworker is ultimately responsible for helping a pregnant foster child find the advocacy group and medical attention that she needs, although foster parents may provide emotional support. Whether or not a pregnant foster child remains in foster care during or after pregnancy is dependent on several factors, including her age at the time of the pregnancy.
Although a caseworker is responsible for helping to put a pregnant foster child in touch with the right people to help her explore her options, the caseworker should not be the sole individual consulted. Caseworkers may have pre-existing opinions based on the impact that the pregnancy that one of the children under their supervision may have on their jobs. For that reason, a neutral party who has no specific interest should be consulted for guidance and options.Learn more about Social Services
In the United States, laws regarding age requirements on adoption vary from state to state, but one must be at least 18 years of age to adopt a child. The requirement of being 21 years of age, however, is much more common.Full Answer >
The amount the state paid a foster parent in 2014 varies by the state, age of the child and the level of care, but the monthly base rate in Oregon for a child under 5 was $575. In Florida, the state paid foster parents $429 for a child under 5.Full Answer >
The amount of money foster care providers receive is determined mainly by the child's age. For example, in 2014, Wisconsin provides a monthly amount of $375 for children under 4, $410 for children from 5 to 11, $466.00 for children 12 to 14 and $487 for children 15 and over.Full Answer >
To be eligible for Supplemental Security Income, the applicant must be 65 years of age or older, or an adult or child of any age who is blind or disabled. The applicant must be a U.S. citizen currently residing in the country or an eligible noncitizen. The applicant must also have limited income and limited means of support.Full Answer >