Q:

When applying for a foster care license, does the state always review medical records?

A:

Quick Answer

Each state has its own requirements for foster care applicants, which may or may not include a medical examination and review for everyone in the household. Adopt Us Kids has an online page that leads to foster care sites for individual states. State sites reveal information about medical reporting requirements.

 Know More

Full Answer

Generally, states want to ensure that applicants meet minimum mental and physical health guidelines. This involves being examined by a licensed physician and receiving the appropriate documentation of the exam. For example, the North Carolina Division of Social Services requires medical information that includes an examination and a TB skin test that screens for tuberculosis.

Learn more about Social Services

Related Questions

  • Q:

    How much was a foster parent paid in 2014?

    A:

    The amount the state paid a foster parent in 2014 varies by the state, age of the child and the level of care, but the monthly base rate in Oregon for a child under 5 was $575. In Florida, the state paid foster parents $429 for a child under 5.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    Who owns a patients medical records?

    A:

    The laws dictating who owns medical records vary by state, according to the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. In some states, the physical documents are the property of the health care provider. The U.S. Department of Health & Human Services requires that patients have access to all information on medical records.

    Full Answer >
  • Q:

    How do you obtain a day care license?

    A:

    A day care licence is obtained from the Department of Social Services of the state in which the license holder wishes to practice child care. While many of the requirements are the same for each state, there are some variations. Before applying for a license, it is wise to check local requirements to ensure there are no significant variations.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How can I get a day care license?

    A:

    In the United States, each state has different requirements for obtaining a day care license. According to the state of California's website, to become a licensed day care provider, candidates have to attend an orientation session, become familiar with all family child care home licensing laws, pass a home inspection and complete and submit all the forms in the application packet.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore