Being considered a resident of another state depends on the reason for establishing residency, such as for voting, tax or tuition purposes, and the laws of the particular state. For tax purposes, a person is generally considered a resident of a state if his main home is in the state for an entire year, but the department of revenue for each state determines residency requirements, according to TurboTax.Know More
In general, for voting purposes, becoming a resident of a state is as simple as moving there with the intention of staying for the length of time specified by the state, according to the Federal Voting Assistance Program. Most states require a voter to live in the state for 30 days or less, and some have no length of residency requirements at all, notes Infoplease from Pearson Education.
State boards may determine the requirements for state residency for in-state tuition purposes, according to FinAid, with the individual colleges determining whether a student qualifies. U.S. News & World Report recommends registering a car in the new state, paying state taxes, obtaining a library card and registering to vote as ways to prove state residency, which can cut back considerably on the price of tuition at a state college or university.Learn More
Teens who meet residency and age requirements may file an emancipation petition with a county court by submitting identification details, contact information, a certified birth certificate and plans for maintaining independent income, according to the North Carolina General Assembly. Teens must be at least 16 years old and show proof of living in one county or federal territory of North Carolina for a minimum of six months prior to petitioning.Full Answer >
Slate explains that the reason the legal age for Americans is 18 deals with the idea of voting. Stemming from the Vietnam War era, people did not agree that it was okay to send 18-year-olds to war without giving them the right to vote first. Prior to that era, the minimum voting age was 21. When the 26th Amendment was passed in 1971, the age moved down to 18.Full Answer >
To become a Maryland resident, a person must either establish a permanent home in the state or live in the state for more than 6 months. Full-time residents are residents who were physically present in the state for at least 183 days of the year. Part-time residents are those who lived in the state for less than 6 months.Full Answer >
For purposes of obtaining a South Carolina driver's license, one need only establish a permanent address within the state. To qualify for in-state college tuition rates, one must maintain an address in the state for at least one year or be employed within the state of South Carolina.Full Answer >