Notaries make certified copies of original documents, although some documents are ineligible for copy certification by a notary. Some states do not allow notaries to certify copies of documents, and restrictions for this service often vary by state.Know More
As of 2014, 34 states allow notaries to make certified copies. These states include: Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Missouri and Montana. The other states that offer this service include: Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming.
The American Society of Notaries uses the term "attested copy," or "copy attestation," in place of "certified copy," except in states that specifically refer to the certification of documents in their laws and regulations. Notaries who make certified copies do so using one of three methods. In the first two methods, the notary either makes copies of the original documents, or they stand as witnesses while the customers requesting certification make copies on their own, and then the notary attests that the copies are correct. The third method allows notaries to look over copies of documents brought in by the customer and compare the copies to the original documents before attesting that the copies are correct. As of 2014, only 16 states allow notaries to use the comparison method to certify copies.Learn more about Public Records
According to the State of Virginia website, certified birth certificate copies are available through the Virginia Department of Health's Division of Vital Records. A certificate is obtained in four ways: through the mail, online, by walking into the office and through the Department of Motor Vehicles.Full Answer >
A birth certificate in Georgia may be obtained either by mail or in person. To obtain the certificate by mail, a signed and completed form with the required information, a copy of a photo ID, and payment by certified check or money order of $25 is required. Additional copies cost $5 each. The certificate may be obtained in person from the Office of Vital Records on the same day.Full Answer >
It is possible to search, browse and download copies of mugshots in Etowah County from the website of the Etowah County Sheriff's Office. This website features all bookings from the last 24 hours on its main mugshot page, while earlier mugshots can be searched for using the online tool.Full Answer >
Copies of birth records for people born in the state of California are available through the California Department of Public Health. The application and all required documentation must be submitted through the mail.Full Answer >