Generally, it is difficult to obtain a copy of a divorce decree online. You can search online for the location of a divorce decree, but you likely need to obtain a copy from the vital statistics office, the local Department of Records or the courthouse where the divorce occurred.Know More
According to Vitalrec.com, you can submit a written petition to the vital statistics office in the state in which the divorce occurred to obtain a copy of the divorce decree. USA.gov similarly acknowledges that the county clerk's office can assist in obtaining a copy of a divorce decree.
According to LegalZoom, courts may require paperwork before releasing copies of divorce decrees; for example, parties not involved in the divorce require a notarized letter or affidavit from one of the parties. Copies of a divorce decree may be found at the court clerk's office, at the county or state records department or with the attorney involved in processing the divorce.
LegalZoom acknowledges that divorce decrees can sometimes be found online, but Internet sites offering this type of service typically charge a fee. Furthermore, many jurisdictions limit access to certain public records, which may prevent the ability to obtain a copy online.Learn more about Law
The date of a divorce is listed on the official divorce decree, according to LegalZoom. Both parties to the divorce and the judge who presided over it all sign the original decree, and the court issues copies at the time of the divorce.Full Answer >
Individuals can confirm marital status or whether a divorce decree was granted by contacting the county clerk's records office within the county where the divorce was filed. People can also request marriage and divorce records from the state's vital records office, according to the California Department of Public Health.Full Answer >
Texas doesn't have a law on how many times a person can marry in his lifetime, but there must be evidence of divorce, such as a divorce decree, whenever a person marries again, as noted by the Texas Department of State Health Services. To qualify for a marriage license, it has to have been at least 30 days after the divorce was finalized. There's also a 3-day waiting period between obtaining the license and marrying.Full Answer >
Those who do not have the financial capacity to pay for legal representation in court may seek legal aid services for cases such as divorce, child custody or domestic abuse, according to About.com. Low-income individuals are advised to visit a legal aid office to access low-cost or free legal help.Full Answer >