Q:

Can I evict someone living in my home?

A:

Quick Answer

LawNY explains that evicting someone from a private residence is a complicated legal issue that must be handled carefully. In order to evict, you must be the person in legal possession of the home and you must give sufficient notice for the other person to vacate the premises.

Know More
Can I evict someone living in my home?
Credit: Taro the Shiba Inu CC-BY-2.0

Full Answer

As LawNY explains, being in legal possession of the home does not necessarily mean being the one responsible for the mortgage. Tenants whose names appear on the lease are also eligible to evict individuals whose names do not appear on the lease if they go about it the right way. Rocket Lawyer advises simplifying the matter by simply asking the other person to leave first so you can avoid going to the court for an eviction notice. If the other occupant refuses to leave and they have signed a sublease, the person evicting must be able to prove that the occupant has violated some section of the lease. Otherwise, it is possible to file a Petition and Notice of Eviction which typically gives the unwanted occupant 30 days to vacate the premises and to remove all their items from the property. Once an eviction has successfully been filed and the occupant refuses to leave, LawNY reports that a Warrant of Eviction will enable the police to escort the occupant out of the home.


Is this answer helpful?

Similar Questions

  • Q:

    How do I evict my daughter?

    A:

    To evict a daughter, give her a written eviction notice, indicates Eviction Resources. If she does not leave within the time frame specified by state law, visit the local courthouse and file an eviction case. Attend the scheduled hearing. If the judge approves the eviction and your daughter still does not leave, Landlordology notes you have the right to ask law enforcement to have your daughter escorted from the home.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How do I evict a family member?

    A:

    According to the Legal Information Institute of Cornell University Law School, a written notice that the family member's tenancy is ending must be served to evict him or her. If the family member does not move after receiving the notice, a lawsuit may be able to be filed against the person for unlawful tenancy.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are California's runaway laws?

    A:

    In the state of California, there is no law that suggests that a person under the age of 18 running away from home is committing a crime. Minors who run from home can be detained by police and returned to a legal guardian, according to The Interstate Compact on Juveniles.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    Can I legally move out at 17 in Michigan?

    A:

    A 17-year-old is legally permitted to move out of his home in the state of Michigan. However, this is only legal because of a loophole in Michigan law, according to LawRefs.com.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore