A 17-year-old is legally permitted to move out of his home in the state of Michigan. However, this is only legal because of a loophole in Michigan law, according to LawRefs.com.
In the state of Michigan, 17-year-old persons are not classed as adults, minors or juveniles. However, parents are required to support children until they reach age 18. This becomes complicated if the child chooses to move out at 17. A parent is unlikely to receive police assistance if their 17-year-old child chooses to leave or to run away because the child has the legal right to live on his own.Learn More
The Northern Lights are quite often visible from the northern portion of the state of Michigan. At times, the Northern Lights can be seen across the central and southern portion of the state and even into central Wisconsin and northern Iowa.Full Answer >
The state of Michigan is named after the Ojibwe Indian word "Michigama," which means "great lake" or "land surrounded by water." The Ojibwe were one of the eight Native American tribes to reside in present-day Michigan prior to colonization. Michigan's contemporary nickname, The Great Lake State, is a fairly accurate translation of the Ojibwe term.Full Answer >
There are a total of five national parks in the state of Michigan: Isle Royale, Keweenaw, River Raisin, Pictured Rocks and Sleeping Bear Dunes. Each of these areas has a rich history and offers many things to do.Full Answer >
In the state of Michigan, alcohol can be purchased any time except between the hours of 2:30 a.m. until noon on Sundays and between the hours of 2:30 a.m. to 7 a.m. from Monday through Saturday. Alcohol may be purchased from 7 a.m. to noon on Sunday only at establishments that hold a Sunday Sales AM permit.Full Answer >