Q:

What can you legally do when you turn 21?

A:

As of 2014, when an individual turns 21 years old in the United States, he can legally drink alcohol in all 50 states. In 2014, if a 21-year-old individual resides in Colorado or Washington, he is able to legally purchase marijuana for recreational use.

The National Minimum Drinking Act was passed in July 1984 by the U.S. Congress. It stated that all states had a minimum drinking age of 21. Despite having a legal drinking age, studies have shown it does little to deter underage drinking. The Center for Disease Control and Prevention states that alcohol is the most abused drug among those under 21 in the United States. The CDC also states that in 2010, it estimated that emergency rooms saw 189,000 alcohol related visits by those who are underage. According to the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism, as of 2014, underage alcohol use is also responsible for 5,000 deaths per year. Adolescents continually start to drink alcohol at younger ages. In 2003, the NIAAA reported the average age of initial alcohol use was 14. This figure is down from 17.5 in 1965. Individuals who started drinking alcohol before the age of 15 were four times more likely to become dependent on alcohol at some point in their lives.


Is this answer helpful?

Similar Questions

  • Q:

    What are some things you can do when you turn 18?

    A:

    According to the Alaska Bar Association, when an individual reaches the age of 18, he can marry, vote, buy tobacco products, engage in consensual sex, join the military, work full-time, apply for loans and credit and get piercings and tattoos. The National Conference of State Legislatures explains that rules vary from state-to-state, but most states consider an individual an adult at age 18.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is the legal age for children to stay home alone overnight?

    A:

    In the United States, no federal law exists setting an age at which children can stay home along unsupervised, although some states have certain restrictions on age for children to stay home alone as well as duration of unsupervised period. Generally, individual families have quite a bit of flexibility in determining when children are physically and emotionally mature enough to remain home without parental supervision. Although most states do not have specific ages for leaving kids alone, some states, such as Maryland, require children who are age 8 or younger to have adult supervision, such as a babysitter or nanny, when parents must leave the home.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    Can a 17-year-old rent an apartment?

    A:

    A lease or rental agreement is a legal contract, and people under 18 cannot enter into a legally binding contract in the United States, according to Nolo. As a result, most landlords do not risk renting to someone under legal age without a co-signer, explains AskTheJudge.info.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How old do you have to be to rent a house?

    A:

    The legal age to enter into any contract in the United States is 18, according to Nolo. Because a lease is considered a legal contract, a tenant must be at least 18 to rent a house.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore