Q:

Can pregnant women drive in the carpool lane?

A:

Quick Answer

Just like everyone else, a pregnant woman can be ticketed for driving in the carpool lane without anyone in her passenger seat. The carpool law requires that multiple seats in the car contain passengers, according to Berkeley Patch.

Know More

Full Answer

The purpose of the carpool lane law is to remove excess traffic from the roads by encouraging people to share cars, taking up more physical space in the vehicles. In 1987, a woman was ticketed for driving alone in the carpool lane in California. Convinced that her unborn child counted as another person, she took the case to court, resulting in the dismissal of the ticket, according to the LA Times. A later case in Arizona was upheld, however, according to CBS News.

Learn more about Driving Laws

Related Questions

  • Q:

    What is improper lane use?

    A:

    Improper lane usage is defined by the state of Illinois as driving a vehicle in any way other than what is practically possible within a single lane of traffic and not moving out of that lane until the driver has determined that the move can be safely made without hampering the operation of other vehicles. This is considered a moving violation punishable by a fine.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How old do you have to be to drive a car?

    A:

    While different states vary in rules and regulations, the legal age at which most drivers are able to drive a car in the United States is 16 years old. Most states have driver license restrictions that are maintained until the person is a legal adult at 18 years of age.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    Is it legal to drive with a cast on your foot?

    A:

    It is not illegal for a person to drive with a cast on his or her foot; however, experts advise against it because of slower response times when moving from the accelerator to the brake or when engaging the clutch in a vehicle with a manual transmission, according to the University of Wisconsin. Medical doctors advise patients with foot casts to avoid driving until the cast is removed, according to Gunderson Health.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    When can you drive to the left of a yellow line?

    A:

    Drivers are allowed to pass to the left if there is a broken line on the side of the driver who wants to turn left. Drivers can turn left into a left turn center lane, but such turn lanes are only cleared for a limited driving distance of 200 feet.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore