In most states, a person can sue someone else for falsely accusing them, according to The Law Firm of George H. Ramos Jr. In legal terms, falsely accusing someone of a crime is referred to as malicious prosecution.Know More
Suing a person for false accusations takes place in civil courts. The case is possible if a person or police officer accuses someone of a crime that ends in an arrest. To sue the person, the defendant must not be convicted in the court of law. Suing someone on the grounds malicious prosecution can result in a monetary judgement that includes attorney fees, lost wages and court fees. Other monetary settlements may be awarded as well if the person claims they have been humiliated or their reputation has suffered.
Unfortunately, the accused person often has to face plenty of challenges, even if the accusations are false. This includes obtaining legal counsel, attending court dates and proving their innocence. If the charges end up being dismissed by the courts or the defendant is found not-guilty, their only recourse is taking the accuser back to court. This can result in added expenses and it is up to the judge whether or not the accuser is responsible for these added fees as well as the fees that occurred during the criminal case.Learn more about Law
A tenant can sue a landlord for a number of different reasons, including getting the landlord to do small repairs, pressuring the landlord to follow through with any promises made in rental ads, and attempting to get a security deposit back. A landlord can be sued in small claims court.Full Answer >
In most states, individuals can complete an online application by accessing the legal aid organization's website and selecting the link to complete an online application or print an application. Those seeking legal aid assistance may need to provide financial documentation with the application, according to Legal Aid of North Carolina.Full Answer >
In most states, picture IDs issued by the government are considered valid forms of ID. This includes driver's licenses, photo driver permits and state issued non-driver identification cards.Full Answer >
LegalMatch says, "A Class A Misdemeanor is the most serious classification of misdemeanor charges in most states," including Texas. While not as serious as a felony, misdemeanors are punishable by up to a year in jail and carry fines of $500 to $5,000. Individuals convicted of a misdemeanor complete their jail time at a local facility, while felons often spend their jail time in a federal prison.Full Answer >