Tennessee law defines abandonment as a parent's deliberate failure to visit or provide financial support for his child for a period of four successive months. Even if such grounds are proven, the court must still determine whether termination of parental rights is in the best interest of the child, notes the Law Office of Paula Ogle Blair.Know More
Terminating parental rights due to abandonment is a significant decision. Therefore, a high standard of evidence is required before such a relationship can be ended permanently. To establish such "clear and compelling evidence," Tennessee attorney Laura B. Baker notes that those making such a claim must prove the parent made no attempt to visit or support the child even though the parent was able to do so and had no defensible reason for not doing so, according to the Law Offices of John Day.
According to Tennessee state law, other grounds for abandonment include the parent being incarcerated for up to four months prior to the action declaring the child to be abandoned or the parent being involved in activities before incarceration that pose a threat to the child's welfare. Newborns under 72 hours of age left at a hospital or similar facility with no contact from the mother for a period of 90 days are also considered abandoned, explains the Law Office of Paula Ogle Blair.Learn more about Law
Child labor laws in Ohio require a work permit for those between the ages of 14 and 18, and the law limits the time of day as well as the total number of hours minors may work, according to the Ohio Department of Commerce. Rules vary according to age.Full Answer >
Child endangerment laws make putting a child's life or health at risk through the lack of concern or recklessness of adults a crime, says LegalMatch. In some states child endangerment is a separate offense, while in others it is included in child abuse statutes.Full Answer >
In Texas, emancipation laws allow minors to become emancipated if they are entering into marriage, if they are joining the military, or if a minor requests emancipation and a court grants the request. The legal age of majority in Texas is 18.Full Answer >
To gain an understanding of child custody laws, first research nationwide laws at sites such as Cornell University's Legal Information Institute. Then, use sites such as About Parenting, which details state-specific laws concerning child custody.Full Answer >