Examples of offenses considered to be class B misdemeanors include first-offense driving while intoxicated and possession of up to two ounces of marijuana. A class B misdemeanor in Texas is punishable by a fine of up to $2000, up to 180 days in jail or both, according to Nolo.
Theft of property valued at $50 to $500 and telephone harassment are also class B misdemeanors in Texas, notes Nacogdoches County, Texas. Giving a false report to a police officer, terroristic threats, vandalism and running away from a police officer by foot are class B misdemeanors. Misdemeanors in Texas are class A, B or C, with class C misdemeanors carrying the least punishment. Class C misdemeanors are punishable by a fine of up to $500 without jail time, whereas class A misdemeanors are punishable by a fine of up to $4000, up to a year in jail or both. Class A misdemeanors include more serious offenses, such as pimping, assault resulting in bodily injury, second-offense driving while intoxicated and theft of property valued at $500 to $1,500.
Class B misdemeanors are tried in county courts along with class A misdemeanors. Jail time may be served in local, city or country jail, notes Minton, Burton, Bassett & Collins. Repeat offenses increase the misdemeanor charges, according to Sullo & Sullo Attorneys at Law.Learn More
According to Nolo, a Class A misdemeanor in Wisconsin involves the theft of goods or services that carry a value of no more than $2,500. A misdemeanor is a petty or minor offence against society. A few examples of other misdemeanors include public intoxication, vandalism and trespassing.Full Answer >
According to Nolo's CriminalDefenseLawyer.com, class A misdemeanors in Missouri include possession of marijuana up to 35 grams, shoplifting less than $500, domestic assault of the third degree and false imprisonment. Class A misdemeanors are considered the most serious category of Classes A through C. The penalty is a fine up to $1,000, up to one year in jail or both.Full Answer >
An individual is charged with a Class 2 misdemeanor in North Carolina if caught carrying a concealed weapon, enacting in disorderly conduct, assaulting another person and resisting a police officer, as of 2014. Only simple assaults are classified as Class 2 misdemeanors, according to Robert H. Hale, Jr. & Associates.Full Answer >
A Class B felony in the state of Indiana was punishable by 6 to 20 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000. However, as of July 1, 2014, the state's penal code for felonies consists of Level 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6 felonies instead.Full Answer >