Q:

What is a Class F felony in North Carolina?

A:

Quick Answer

According to the state of North Carolina, Class F felonies include: kidnapping children, involuntary manslaughter, human trafficking of adults, rebellion against the state, second degree sexual exploitation of a child, indecent liberties with a child, the prostituting of a minor, and assault on an executive, legislative or court officer. Class F felonies carry a penalty of 10 to 49 months in jail, according to Chowan County.

Know More

Full Answer

The sentence for someone with a prior criminal record may be higher than the minimum sentencing requirements for a Class F felony in North Carolina. Each prior offense, whether a misdemeanor or a felony, carries a point value, as explained by CriminalDefenseLawyer.com. A Class F felony carries a four-point value. When determining sentencing, the person's prior convictions are assigned a point rating. This rating determines the record level. The higher the record level, the larger the sentence is. CriminalDefenseLawyer.com notes that Class F felonies also fall into three disposition ranges: presumptive, aggravated and mitigated. A presumptive Class F felony is a felony in which there are no additional sentencing factors to consider. These are standard offenses that receive standard sentences. An aggravated Class F felony is one that the court considers especially cruel or heinous or that involves a very young or very old person. A mitigated felony is a crime for which there are mitigating factors that can reduce the sentence, including whether the person believed the crime was legal and whether the person took responsibility for the action.

Learn more about Crime

Related Questions

  • Q:

    What is an Illinois Class 4 felony?

    A:

    A Class 4 felony in Illinois is any felony that can be punished by at least one year in state prison but no more than three. It is the lowest level of felony in the state.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is a Class D felony in Missouri?

    A:

    A Class D felony in Missouri includes third-degree domestic assault, resisting arrest, fraud or passing a bad check, as noted by Criminal Defense Lawyer. A person convicted of a Class D felony may spend up to 7 years in prison.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is a Class B felony in Indiana?

    A:

    A Class B felony in the state of Indiana was punishable by 6 to 20 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000. However, as of July 1, 2014, the state's penal code for felonies consists of Level 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6 felonies instead.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is considered a Class D felony in Indiana?

    A:

    According to the law office of Ross G. Thomas, Class D felonies in Indiana cover crimes such as possession of more than 30 grams of marijuana or operating a vehicle while intoxicated (OWI). Theft and criminal confinement also fall under this classification. Class D felonies are the lowest level of misdemeanor offense.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore