According to the law office of Ross G. Thomas, Class D felonies in Indiana cover crimes such as possession of more than 30 grams of marijuana or operating a vehicle while intoxicated (OWI). Theft and criminal confinement also fall under this classification. Class D felonies are the lowest level of misdemeanor offense.Know More
Thomas also notes that the average jail time given for conviction under Class D ranges from 6 months up to 3 years. Fines levied upon conviction are up to ten thousand dollars. People with prior convictions risk being charged with Class D felonies. For example, a person being charged with their second OWI offense within 5 years will be bumped up from a Class A misdemeanor to a Class D felony. Likewise, for a drug possession charge.
In 2013, the Indiana Second Chance law, that reduces penalties for some Class D felony convictions went into effect, as noted by the official website of Indianapolis and Marion County. Under this law, the court has the discretion to reduce a felony to a misdemeanor after a number of years. People who have been convicted of non-violent crimes and have kept out of trouble can apply 8 years after their sentence is complete. People convicted of sex or violent crimes are required to wait 10 years after they complete their sentence. Speeding up the petitioning process requires the written consent of a prosecuting attorney.Learn more in Crime
According to Avvo, Class 4 felonies in Arizona include theft, possession of narcotics, possession of dangerous drugs, forgery, identity theft, weapons misconduct and driving under the influence. The Law Offices of David Cantor list computer crimes, such as tampering and possession of an unauthorized access device, as Class 4 felonies.Full Answer >
A Class 4 felony in Illinois is any felony that can be punished by at least one year in state prison but no more than three. It is the lowest level of felony in the state.Full Answer >
A Class D felony in Missouri includes third-degree domestic assault, resisting arrest, fraud or passing a bad check, as noted by Criminal Defense Lawyer. A person convicted of a Class D felony may spend up to 7 years in prison.Full Answer >
A Class 6 felony in Virginia is a crime that meets the criteria for the "felony" category with the least of authorized punishments associated with it. Class 6 felony crimes in the state of Virginia include reckless endangerment and violation of a court order.Full Answer >